Follow:
On the road

Impressions of the Koningsdag in the Netherlands

Impressions from the Koningsdag (27. April 2016) in Venlo.Koningsdag Venlo 2016

Since a few weeks I am working as an intern in a translation Office in the Netherlands. Of course, I wanted to use this free day, to experience the Koningsdag (really a shame, that I as Halbholländerin, There never was). My work colleagues had made me aware already, that the Koningsdag in the South is far less celebrated, as in the rest of the country. My plans, a larger city to visit, have been tainted by the bad weather reports. That's why I'm for Venlo. There were also some events, due to the weather, cancelled. On the photos you can see some, the Sun is shining. Unfortunately it was pure happiness. Here is, Since a few days, absolute April weather – Rain, Sun and sleet, cheerfully alternated every 5 minutes.

What is the Koningsdag at all?

On the Koningsdag (DT. King day) is the anniversary of the birth of Willem-Alexander, the King of the Netherlands, celebrated. The day is a holiday in the Netherlands and is celebrated in all major cities. The revelers dress in Orange on this day and decorate everything in the national colour too.

What's with the Orange?

That hangs together with the title of the King. Its full title is: Willem-Alexander, Prince of Orange-Nassau (NL. Oranje Nassau), Jonkheer van Amsberg. Da „Oranje“ in Dutch „Orange“ is called, was it obvious, to make the color to the color of the country.

How is the Koningsdag celebrated?

In Venlo, there was an action for children, When they were allowed to decorate their bikes with a bow in the colors of the Dutch flag – There also was this Orange pennant. Since I have regretted it somewhat, to be older ;) For people of my age is Koningsdag go there to celebrate more. There are many parties, Festivals and concerts. Each city organizes its own program. Unfortunately, there was no boat parade in Venlo, as z. B. in Amsterdam… next year will I probably even take it in attack and another city on the Koningsdag visit :)

A pub er talks (@puberrtalks) new photo most

Share:
Previous post Next post

You may therefore like

No comments

Answer

Follow:
Unterwegs

Impressionen vom Koningsdag in Holland

Impressionen vom Koningsdag (27. April 2016) in Venlo.Koningsdag Venlo 2016

Seit ein paar Wochen arbeite ich als Praktikantin in einem Übersetzungsbüro in den Niederlanden. Den heutigen freien Tag wollte ich natürlich nutzen, um den Koningsdag zu erleben (eigentlich eine Schande, dass ich als Halbholländerin, da noch nie dabei war). Meine Arbeitskollegen hatten mich bereits darauf Aufmerksam gemacht, dass der Koningsdag im Süden bei weitem nicht so gefeiert wird, wie im Rest des Landes. Meine Pläne, eine größere Stadt zu besuchen, wurden von den schlechten Wettermeldungen zunichtegemacht. Deshalb bin ich nach Venlo. Dort wurden auch einige Veranstaltungen, aufgrund des Wetters, abgesagt. Auf den Fotos sieht man teilweise, dass die Sonne scheint. Leider handelte es sich dabei um reine Glücksmomente. Hier ist, seit ein paar Tagen, das absolute Aprilwetter – Regen, Sonne und Graupel wechseln sich munter im 5-Minuten-Takt ab.

Was ist überhaupt der Koningsdag?

Am Koningsdag (dt. Königstag) wird der Geburtstag von Willem-Alexander, der König der Niederlande, gefeiert. Der Tag gilt als Feiertag in den Niederlanden und wird in allen größeren Städten gefeiert. Die Feiernden kleiden sich an diesem Tag in Orange und dekorieren auch gern alles in der Landesfarbe.

Was soll das mit dem Orange?

Das hängt mit dem Titel des Königs zusammen. Dessen vollständiger Titel lautet: Willem-Alexander, Prinz von Oranien-Nassau (nl. Oranje Nassau), Jonkheer van Amsberg. Da „Oranje“ im Niederländischen „orange“ heißt, lag es auf der Hand, die Farbe zur Landesfarbe zu machen.

Wie wird der Koningsdag gefeiert?

In Venlo gab es für die Kinder eine Aktion, bei der sie ihre Fahrräder mit einem Bogen in den Farben der niederländischen Flagge dekorieren durften – orangene Wimpel gab es auch dazu. Da habe ich es schon etwas bereut, älter geworden zu sein ;) Für Menschen in meinem Alter ist der Koningsdag eher zum Feiern gehen da. Es gibt viele Partys, Festivals und Konzerte. Jede Stadt organisiert ihr eigenes Programm. Leider gab es in Venlo keine Bootsparade, wie z. B. in Amsterdam… nächste Jahr werde ich das wohl doch noch einmal in Angriff nehmen und eine andere Stadt am Koningsdag besuchen :)

Share:
Previous Post Next Post

You may also like

Keine Kommentare

Antworte